Default Divorce: Another Option in New Jersey
In the state of New Jersey, it may not be required that a person seeking a divorce get the approval or even a response from their spouse. The resulting divorce proceedings are called a “divorce by default.”
For the divorce by default to continue, the plaintiff, otherwise understood as the person who filed for divorce, is required to give the correct papers to the defendant, their spouse. If there is no response within a 35-day period, then the plaintiff will have 60 days to submit a request to the court for a default judgment.
2 types of Default Divorce:
Default Divorce by Agreement: A default divorce is often a good option for people who have settled their differences and consulted separate lawyers already to avoid paying both the filing and answering paperwork fees.
Default Divorce without a Court Hearing: There are several places in New Jersey that do not require a court appearance as long as both spouses have made it clear that all required questions have been answered and a settlement has been reached.
If you’re seeking a divorce, it is often the best idea to contact an attorney to discuss your options and desires moving forward. Contact one of our divorce attorneys with Law Office of Andrew A. Bestafka, Esq. by calling (732) 898-2378 and we can potentially help you in your case.